My backpack is dying for adventures - Reisverslag uit ettenleur, Nederland van Loony Leonie - WaarBenJij.nu My backpack is dying for adventures - Reisverslag uit ettenleur, Nederland van Loony Leonie - WaarBenJij.nu

My backpack is dying for adventures

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Loony

11 Januari 2016 | Nederland, ettenleur


*** i wrote this without reading it back, so sorry already if there is spelling mistakes****

Namaste sweet souls,

Its been a while.. I know.. I know….

Sometimes just too much things happen, and I dont know where to start writing.. And that only makes me postpone the writing more and more..
But here I am.. :)
And writing you from Holland this time..

I came back from Malta end of November after an amazing summer!
I seriously had one of the best summers ever there.

Sun, party, beach, lovely souls, more beach, party and sun… :D
I spend my time making decorations, fireshows, and chilling.
And I organized some very successful parties also with a friend.

The Maltese pay-scene is really amazing.
Because the island is so small, its more like a community.. you have a lot of new brothers and sisters in no time..
You see each other at least 2 or 3 times a week, so the connection grows strong quickly..
And even if you dont see each other, other people see each other, and so you are always updated about the latest gossips..
yes, maltese like to gossip ;)

That the island is so small never bothered me.
And to be honest, I still didn't manage to see everything there!
Sounds crazy.. but true haha..

In the time I wrote you and the present time, a lot of things happened.. But will try to keep it short ;)


Ofcourse I can't sit still in one place, so I left Malta for a month to go back to Europe..
I started my trip in Venice, what a lovely city. And how much I enjoyed it to discover it alone.
From Venice I went to Slovenia, for Metal Days festival.
A week of Metal at a magical blue river.
In short, metal concerts, beer, swimming, pizza, cocktails, more metal concerts and repeat :D
It was a lovely experience with lovely friends!
I almost forgot how much fun metal festivals are!!

After a week of trash, black and death metal, i was trashed black, trashed and death myself. I went to chill out in a village in Slovenia, that was famous for adventure sports in my state haha..
I was in no mood for adventure sports, so I moved on quickly to lake Bled.. What a beautiful place!
I walked around the lake and in the mountains a bit..
And moved on, Ljubljana was the next destination.
Amazing city, which reminded me a bit of Berlin. Alternative, free, young people, nice bars, cheap and a very good vibe..

I decided to skip Croatia, and take a train to Serbia. Best choice ever.
In the train I saw a very funny guy walking in, when the train stopped in Belgrade, we got off at the same time, and this guy turned out to be Botas, with who I was going to have a crazy adventure.
In short, Botas is from Mexico, was carrying nothing but a tent, sleeping bag, a knife, a clean underpants and an accordion.
With this street musician I took a hostel for a night, and we discovered we have a good connection.
The day after we jumped in the first bus we saw, into nothingness.
We ended up in a village not even on the map.
Arriving there with no clue, we discovered what a rare connection we had.
Trying to figure out what to eat and where to sleep, we just sat down at a terrace of a bar where the locals invited us.
The local villagers gave us cookies and lemonade and tried to communicate with us. We enjoyed them so much, that Botas decided to play for them on his accordion. That gave me the idea to play with my flow wand.
The villagers started clapping, and come out of their houses, never in their lives that had experienced such a weird accordion player, and such a weird flashing things as my flow wand.
We connected with music and flowing, we got offered a place to sleep, and the next day we started to hitchhike deeper into Serbia.
Everywhere we went, villagers gave us food, drinks, places to sleep and even money.
We hitchhiked even with a tractor, and ended up at traditional balkan village fest, where we got interviewed for radio and tv..
After this crazy ride, we had to split the road because I was going to Romania, and he was going to Turkey.

I threw away a lot of my clothes, and decided to hitch hike to my destination Romania alone.. What a feeling of freedom!
I checked out a bus schedule 2 times, to find out that busses in Romania go only once or twice a day, and that hitch hiking was much faster then waiting for the bus, and much more fun too..
I ended up at some natural hot springs, where i could even stay at a camping for 0,50e..
It was an amazing adventure, and met a lot of nice people on the way, and the whole trip was filled with energetic balkan music.

I arrived at my destination in Romania right on time, for Glia festival. Another amazing experience, of a festival deep, deep in the forest..
Where people work together to make the festival happen, and all decoration is natural from the forest. To blast extreme music from the speakers after haha..
After this crazy ride in the Balkans, it was time for Malta again..


Anyway, back to Malta ;)
Sun, beach, party, and psychedelic family :D
And besides my lovely Maltese family, also some love souls from Holland/ Belgium came..

First after my melodic balkan adventure, my lovely Weasel came, and we had an awesome week.. Even though the party I tried to organize by the police, we had crazy fun like always.. :) <3

Then there was a very special week in Malta..
My friends Ramon & Lotte got married, well sort of married ;)
Many friends came to Malta for a week, and Loony Tours started to exist, every day I loaded my car full of friends, to discover super nice places together.
So nice to be on such a nice island, with such nice people
On the wedding day, we all went on a boat, and the love birds got sort of married by the captain who couldn't even say the name of Lotte right (toch, Lolly?). It just made the wedding complete and perfect!
No need for standard arranged stuff, no need for stiffness and time schedules.. Just love, peace and happiness :D

After the wedding we ended up at a psy trance party..
I can't express how I felt that night.
To share the dance floor with 14 people that I love from Holland/ Belgium, with the people that I really adore from Malta.
To be surrounded by so many people that I care about, and that i love to smile and dance with.. Pure bliss.. I love you all!

Unfortunately all lovely souls from Holland/ Belgium needed to return to their normal lives, and I was left alone again in Malta..
This didn't last long, as shortly after I left for Morocco..


I went back to Morocco again, haha, yes I did.. even after the disaster from the time before..
I dont know why, its a love-hate relationship..
And this time it was again another crazy ride.
I went to decorate a party, which was fun to do and a nice opportunity of course.
But at the party a fight happened, and from dancing and having fun, the next moment i was covered in glass and blood, as some dickheads decided to fight.
The fights didn't stop, only grew bigger..
I never saw a fight on a psy- party before, because normally when you see someone in anger or a strange mood, you take that person away from the dance floor.. But in morocco they just joined the fight, so the drama group just grew bigger.
It was pretty scary, especially because there was also power cuts in between.
My decoration got broken, and I dont remember the last time I felt to sad in my life.. I was heartbroken.. All the love me and the organization had put in this party was disrespected by some assholes.
I was at the point to take my decoration down, and go home..
But then I saw my magical flow wand, and decided to put some positive energy in myself and in the dance floor. As there was a bunch of beautiful people out there, with the right vibe.
When i started to play, at the same time the next dj started his set with unbelievable fast music.. I started to spin, and I forgot about all my sadness, I felt the positive vibe in me rising.
When I looked up, I saw many faces towards me, enjoying the moment and the colors.. People got so enthusiastic the whole vibe changed..
After that the party turned into a positive vibe, and it lasted till 3 in the afternoon, with only the right people with the right heart for this kind of parties..
We stopped the music satisfied and happy.

The rest of my travel in Morocco actually also was very peaceful and happy. I went traveling with my close friends in the car. And it all went smooth, and saw the most beautiful places on the north coast line. It was amazing, and made it all worth it again..
Love and hate, I'm telling you.. but Morocco is a country I will always have in my heart.


After coming back from Morocco, it was almost time to organize a party myself again in Malta with another beautiful soul.
I had a dj coming to stay with me from Lithuania, and I met another dj from Denmark the week before who I convinced to stay in Malta a bit longer and play at our party too..
Having 2 guests in my house started off some major drama with my landlady.. but thats a story for after.

The party went great, and with the dj from Denmark I decided to finally start my diving course. Unfortunately he couldn't finish the course, but I got my PADI Open Water.
Oh, how blessed I feel to had the opportunity to discover another side of Malta.
The underwater world is truly magic. Its so peaceful, you hear no sounds, no traffic, no airplanes (which u hear a lot in small malta of course).. there is no road signs, no rules, no questions, no stress.. just peace.. you remain for about 45 minutes in another world, that combined with beautiful colors of the sea life and crystal clear water..
I recommend it to all of you! ;)


In the meantime I had moved out of my house, because my landlady had started huge drama.
Escaping from my house was a fast choice, but like I said, in Malta there is like a community, and if you have a problem, everybody knows, so everybody helps.
I wasnt homeless for even a minute, I could move in within 2 hours with an amazing Serbian girl. We really enjoyed each others company, and staying with her felt very homey, relaxed, and beautiful.

My last 2 weeks in Malta I spend in the house of another beautiful amazing friend.
And it made me realize again, how smooth my summer has been in Malta. How much I appreciate the Maltese friends that I have. How they have their doors open for you, and what a warm heart they have.
How much I enjoyed the lifestyle, and how welcome I have felt since the moment I arrived.
Its called Magic Malta for a reason. And hereby another big "Grazie Hafna" to all of you that have filled my heart with love.

In my last week my dear friend Wendy also came to visit me, and it was another week of Loony Tours. We visited really nice places, went swimming in an empty Blue Lagoon, and did some kayaking on the sea and went for lovely dinners. Another magical week in Malta :)


In the whole summer (7 or 8 months?) that i stayed there, there was only one person that wasn't so nice to me, and that was my landlady.. That started to complain about my visitors (because I dared to bring a black guy over), started to be racist, bully me away, and then stated I signed a contract for a year, so I need to pay for a year (so another 6 more months of paying for nothing)
But its too long of a story, and after some weeks of stress, calls from the police, lawyers and chancing my flight tickets, it all ended well :D
I did live in a beautiful place for 6 months, and nobody can take that away from me!


And yes.. Now Im writing you from Holland..
Because in Malta it was time to leave.. Summer was ending, bars and restaurants closing, friend were leaving for travels, and my work got less and less also.
Turns out summer didn't really end there, as its still 21 degrees now, in January!
But anyway, I felt it was time for an ending, so I decorated a party for the last time, hugged a lot of beautiful souls, had a small goodbye gathering, and left with a heavy but happy hart..
I left a lot clothes behind, and my decoration too, so I will definitely return one day :D


I spend about 7 weeks in Holland now, spending a lovely x-mas and crazy new years.
And also with working for my old boss.
It felt strange after 7 months of sun, beach and party, to be working again, but after 2 hours everything felt normal again.
I really enjoy this kind of work, and its really for sure not the company that makes me want to leave. For this company I could work anywhere in the world.. To bad its based in Holland haha..
And like always, in Holland, even though the work is very variated and my weekends always fun, I flow into a routine.
Im simply not ready yet for a life with a routine.. And Im not ready yet for a life a one place.

So, I packed my backpack again.
And now in less then 5 hours I leave to the airport to arrive 24 hours from now in Sri Lanka.. :D :D

Life is so good!
And I really go to make the best of it..

So next message from me is from Asia..
Probably a long one, as I just realized again, that keeping it short is just not my thing ;)

Big hugs and enjoy life!
xxx Leonie

  • 12 Januari 2016 - 07:54

    Claudia:

    Wow leonie.
    Wat maak jij toch mooie dingen mee
    Soms zou ik willen dat ik zo moedig was.
    Fantastisch om jouw avonturen te mogen lezen.

    Heel veel plezier in Sri Lanka
    Have fun! !!

  • 12 Januari 2016 - 11:10

    Wendy:

    Mooi om al je avonturen nog eens over te lezen, Malta was een supergoeie keuze voor een magische zomer.. Ben erg benieuwd wat er op je nieuwe reis allemaal gaat gebeuren. Heel veel plezier alvast :)

  • 12 Januari 2016 - 18:00

    Mama:

    Nou meisje, dat viel niet mee vandaag, afscheid nemen voor een lange tijd.
    Snif snif.
    We moeten weer wennen hoor.
    Gelukkig is de eerste helft van de reis goed gegaan, nu nog wachten op de overstap naar sri lanka.
    Ik zal wel rustiger worden wanneer ik morgen hoor dat je daar goed aangekomen bent.
    Maak er een mooie bijzondere ervaring van.
    Pas heel goed op jezelf.
    Mis you.
    Dikke kus mama.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Loony

Actief sinds 19 Sept. 2011
Verslag gelezen: 284
Totaal aantal bezoekers 24447

Voorgaande reizen:

26 Maart 2015 - 05 April 2020

Go with the flow (wand) ! ;)

10 Juni 2011 - 03 Februari 2012

Loony's adventures

26 April 2012 - 30 November -0001

Loony to India

Landen bezocht: