Transahara, Kings and camels - Reisverslag uit ettenleur, Nederland van Loony Leonie - WaarBenJij.nu Transahara, Kings and camels - Reisverslag uit ettenleur, Nederland van Loony Leonie - WaarBenJij.nu

Transahara, Kings and camels

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Loony

29 April 2015 | Nederland, ettenleur

Namaste or Salaam Alaikum,

So finally the story about the start of my adventures..;)
I can never ever keep a story short, even if I want it too.. Everything I will write is open and honest, I keeping nothing hidden. So beware of some pages full of rollercoaster stories to read.. ;)

There it was, 2 april..
My last working day. What a crazy feeling.
1,5 year ago, I had started to work in this very small company. And worked there all alone.
My amazing boss gave me all the freedom, to develop myself, and the daily routine of the company Every day I worked there with pleasure, made long hours, gave it my energy, and saw it grow every day. We had to hire extra people, and I even found myself guiding them. Which was very new for me. But I think I did a good job doing it.
It was certainly not the work, that makes me want to leave Holland. But just the travel bug that bit me once, and makes me itchy when I'm too long in one place..
So, 2 april, time to say goodbye to my colleagues, regular truckdrivers and neighbours.
Giving them all a small gift of chocolate easter bunnies, and my new businesscard.
Close the door, and leave the company with mixed feelings behind..

That evening, I was lucky to be invited by a group of photographers for a photoshoot in a huge pyramid squat building. The theme of the photoshoot was “light painting” and I would fit in perfectly with my flow wand.
The invitation was for me an extra confirmation, that quiting my job, and trying to go on adventure with my flow wand, was the right thing to do.
The photoshoot wasnt as exciting as I had imagined, but I never been a model before ofcourse, so I had no idea what to expect at all.
The result of the pictures is stunning, and I'm super grateful for this experience and portfolio.
(pictures are on my page, also visible for non-facebook users: facebook.com/levitationloony )

The day after, it was time to start my adventures in a more spiritual way. A kambo ceremony.
In short, kambo is a healing ritual used in the amazones. It is frog poison, that a shaman adds in small doses to your body, by burning a small point in your skin, and apply the poison.
When the poison runs in your blood, you start to sweat and swell up. Extreme heat and sickness takes over, and in combination with that water that you drink before the treatment, there is a transformation in your body and makes old waste material in your body leave by puking (in my case). While throwing out your waste materials, you also throw away your negative energies.
After the ceremony your body is cleaned, and you are full of energy.
It can also help to cure a lot of diseases, think of allergies, depression, migraine, blood circulation problems, skin problems, hepatitis, and even can reduce grow of cancer cells..
This cleansing process does not only work only for the body, but also for the mind.
The frog connects you with natural wisdom, reflects negative habits, and shows what to avoid and what you can do to feel better with yourself. You can get visions of the path you want to follow, and what is important for you and what is not.
And ofcourse, that I could use this energy, focus and insights for myself and my adventures.



Shortly after I am with my backpack on the airport on my way to Morocco.
The start was very weird.. The plan was to fly to Fez, and have a pick-up there from a friend.
The evening before I'm leaving I feel that I should cancel on my friend picking me up, and travel by myself.
In the plane, we get to hear, that the flight changes direction to Rabat, because of the weather conditions. Good thing, that I cancelled on my friend for the pick up.
In Rabat, I travel to meet a girl from Belgium that is together with her Moroccan boyfriend and his brother in Sale.
I am very welcome in the house, although there is a weird vibe going on between the girl and her boyfriend. Still we decide we want to go altogether to Transahara festival, and that we want to rent a car and make it a nice roadtrip.
The day after we search for a car, and when I wish to collect my money to pay the bail, I find out something is wrong with my money. I decide to check it after, because normally it is my own mistake being careless.
When I come back, I lock myself in my room and count the money. But there is really something wrong. 300 euro is missing from my bag!
I feel very uncomfortable because I feel so welcome in this house, but not matter how much I search, my money is really gone. After some thoughts I decide to tell.
And ofcourse the whole house is upside down. All brothers accusing and searching each other, and a dissapointed mother that has no clue what is going on. I feel guilty and used.

The vibe between the girl and her boyfriend does not help.
She comes to ask me to buy her a pil in secret, because he does not allow her to use birth control.
She tells me she is not allowed to speak with strangers, party, or be free. She doesn't trust him at all with girls or money (its not the first time money got missing in that house), while she is following his rules completely. The guy is trying to control her life, and I see her falling for it. I see she dont agree, but still says “yes” to keep him close to her.
The subjects they are fighting about are way to heavy for me, and remind me of my past with the bad boys I been dating.
They make me feel sad, and in the morning I find myself weeping on the balcony.
I already rented the car, and bringing it back is a loss of money anyway in Morocco. But I really dont feel like taking this people in my car. The stolen money, the fights....
But their little dog, wagging his tail, reminds me of the nicer things in life.
And I decide to flip a coin.
Within an hour we are all in the car. Smiling again.

The road was with much better vibes. And the beauty of the nature overwelmed us all.
We started with a road full of flowers on both sides, purple, yellow, red, pink, white. We crossed green mountains and green roads with sheep eating peacefully on the side.
The more far we drove, the lands got drier, and the nature more stunning.
Brown mountains, with sandy colorred houses, while green palmtree groves where below us following the rivers.
We had some nice camping on the road, in an unfinished park, where hot water was coming from the mountains.. The day after we made some shoppings, drove some more and reached Merzouga.
From Merzouga we were send into the desert with our little rental car.
Later we found out, there was a road on the side, but we didnt see it. So we drove over a very rocky streched area, without a road, just bumps and bumps and bumps.
I felt sorry for the car, and told it that everything would be alright..
It was very confusing, as there was no people or cars insight. I could not imagine a festival would be there. I tried to do the old trick, of stopping the car and listing for sounds, but also this was not there.
After 2 hours of bumps and rocks, while having the sanddunes insight, we found some people that knew the way. Some more bumps and rocks, and there it was: Transahara!

Words can not express my feelings about this festival..
It was like a fairytale coming to life!
The people that I had in my car, turned out to have no money to buy a ticket. And they found no way to enter the festival area. Which I did tell them before many times. And that I did not feel sorry for them either, because seeing the amount of work the organisation had put in this festival, deserved a ticket.
The first half hour, I felt very alone on the dancefloor, knowing absolutely nobody!!
I was surprised that I almost felt lonely, and told myself that I am Loony, and I should not stick in this vibe.
Within half hour a few friends from my former travels to Morocco showed up. The music started to be good, and within no time, I connected with everybody with good vibes and I was flying with all the smiling people.
I could have never imagined meeting so many nice and warm people from all over the world.
There was many interesting converstations, and even more interesting dance connections.
I felt blessed to be there, every minute. Because not only the people made me smile and shine.
The view we were given while dancing, was so insanely beautiful.
Trying to put it in words or pictures, doesnt even come close.

From the dancefloor, we were looking at the golden sanddunes, which already was a miracle of nature for me. This year, it had rained in the desert, and a big oase had occurred right behind the stage. From the oase palmtrees was growing, and all around the festival there was camels and local people with their shops.
I never made it to go swimming in the oase, because most people that know me, know I am a creature of the night. And dance till the morning, and sleep or relax when its daytime.
But I did manage to make a camelride with wonderful people, which was super funny.
I felt every 5 minutes that I was lost in a fairytale, and this feeling stayed with me for 5 days. :D

The only negative thing in this festival, was the Belgium girl and her boyfriend that never stopped fighting. One morning, after no sleep, I was trying to rest in my tent, I heared them fighting all over the camping. The next moment the girl was in my tent, scared and saying she wanted to get rid of the guy. I said it was okay, she can come with me in the car. And he and his brother will just have to leave. She told him to leave, and he packed his stuff..
But ofcourse , within a half hour they got back together and they were laughing again.
I told her, she can come. But that I was done with this drama. And if she would decide to stay with the guy, also she can leave.
Ofcourse they turned to me, and I was the big bitch, and I was even the reason for their fights.
So I threw both of them and their stuff out of the car, and told them Goodbye.
I found many lovely people on the dancefloor, danced and smiled again. And within half hour I had found other wonderful people to drive back with me. :)

After 5 amazing days and party, I was feeling the most blessed girl in the world.
I was charged with energy, and started the ride back to Sale/ Rabat.
I brought back the car, and chilled out in the house of Taha and Soufiane, who had given me their key. I had an incident with a guy, that I concidered a friend. He had taken the opportunity of trying to touch me, while I was sleeping! It was so dissapointing, because it was not the first time he tried it. (I met him at former travels in Morocco)
I pissed all my anger and dissapointment at him, and I think he got it. I ignored his Sorry's, and jumped in the train to Marrakech.
In the train I was wondering where all this weird vibes were coming from, because the last months in my life were so happy and free of drama. And I really did not feel that in this things I could have any influence, or that I was atracting the drama myself.
I guess things just have to be in balance, and I should accept the reality of Morocco.

I arrived in Marrakech. Felt immediately at home again. This city has such a vibration going on.
Its so buzzing and so alive, that I forgot my worries in no time.
I went to my favorite hostel, where I know there I always a bed for me, no matter if the hostel if full or not. I met some nice travellers, and danced with the staff.
The next morning, I went out to the buzzy medina, to find some gifts for my parents.
And met with Taha (my lovely friend, that I know for long time now), Soufiane (the magic friend and roommate of Taha) , Niki (lovely girl from Germany) and Hakim (lovely friend of Taha n Soufiane).
We had a nice energy going on, and scrolled over the markets, visited little shops.
Stopped here and there for a drink or smoke. Bought some gifts. And really made it a lovely, and super colorful day.


In the following days we brought Niki to the airport in Casablanca. Visited Casablanca, although I didnt see more then just a livingroom. And ended up in Sale/ Rabbat again with Taha n Soufiane.
I chilled out a lot there, just roamed around the city with which I have a love/ hate relationship since the start. A little bit like what I have with Mumbai also. Its beautiful and ugly at the same time.
There is poverty, and rich stuff. Its back to basics, but also modernised. People are friendly, but also steal your things if you are not careful. Its all in balance I guess.

One night there was some friends over, everybody was having fun. Drinking and speaking arabic. But I had a break down evening.
Many solo travellers maybe know this feeling.
You are with people you like very much, but you dont understand a word of what they say all day and night. Even if they try some words of english, you have no clue where you are going or what the plan is. And there is not much you can do about it.
You are just stuck in a life, or daily routine, that is not yours and that you dont understand.
You can not share you own feelings and emotions, and even though you are not alone, you suddenly feel super lonely. (At least that is what I was feeling)
Besides that there was some emotions for a guy and the memories I had with him. And on top of that, I received super bad and sad news about a friend and her relationship, that hit me very hard.
I detached myself from the little party my friends were having, and found myself in a corner with a book, and phone reaching out for friends in Europe.

But then there was a magical King.. He took me in his arms, and gave me back my smile.
I spend already almost all my holiday with him, and I never saw this coming.
Normally my weird brain, only picks up the rough looking bad type guys.
I remember my friends always telling me, that I should stop wasting my time on the bad boys. And only give my love and energy, to a tender sweethearted guy that deserved it. But it never happened.
And now, he was there! :D

Luckely, my tiny sad moment didnt last long.. It actually never does.
And with my magical king on my side, Taha, Shems and 2 crazy dogs, we all left to the blue city, one of the most beautiful places in Morocco. Chefchaouen.
This little city, is like a pearl in the north of Morocco. With its blue painting houses, its charming decorations, little colorful shops and friendly people, it breaths relaxation.
After sleeping, chilling, and breakfast with some Transahara friends, we left to Akchour.
Akchour is a beautiful river in the Rif mountains. If you follow the river, you end up at a small pond, with a huge natural bridge above.. We climmed for long time over the rocks and in the water. It was hard but oh so much fun! Ofcourse we had left too late, and it was getting dark, so we had to turn halfway.. Climbed back on the mountain, to relax with a tea and to enjoy the beautiful view and each others company.
We made a small, very weird party in a hotel of friends of Taha n Soufiane on the road to Chefchaouen. The owner got drunk and we were allowed to play music. Why not ? :D
The day after, everybody went back to Sale, and I got myself dropped of in Chefchaouen, to stay a day n night alone. Sometimes I really enjoy being alone, and enjoy a place in a different way. And it felt also better then being in Sale while everybody would be busy working or not be in the house.
I roamed around Chefchaouen a bit, low on energy from the adventure in the river, and full of muscle pain. But it didnt matter. Because that is the beauty of travelling alone ;)
I did some shoppings, had some tea, took some pictures and had a great time.
In the evening I planned to go back to Sale, found out there was no more busses that day. So I put myself like a sardine in a big taxi.
A big taxi, is just a Mercedes taxi, normal size, not bigger or anything, that takes 6 customers. 4 on the backseat, and 2 on the passenger seat. It drives only after 6 places are being paid. So either you pay 1 place, and you wait for the rest to fill up. Or you pay whatever places are left. I refused, after many hasseling with the drivers, to pay more then one place, and sardine style it was.

Back in Sale, I had some magical moments with my King.. Spend an evening with friends.. Chilled out a lot..
And then, it was time, to leave for the airport.
Morocco was heavy, and sometimes hard. But it was also super amazing, surprising, mind opening, with undescribable beautiful moments, that made the whole thing in total a magical experience.

For the first time, I did not feel like changing my flight. Altough the sweet soft guy with his amazing smile, made a big impression in my heart. And for sure, I would have loved to spend much much more time with him. But to keep things healthy and not rush or push, (like I always do) it was okay also to leave now. It feels okay the way it is now between us. And I feel blessed just for meeting him, and having him in my heart. Time only can tell how the story will end. :)

And for the first time, I came back from Morocco, without having to go to work, and having many fun and wonderful things on the calender. Tooo much things actually.
As soon as I arrived home, I made a schedule for things that I needed to do.
I'm halfway of my time between Morocco and Malta now. And already met some great friends that I didnt see for a while, had a crazy party in a Pyramide, had an awesome Kingsday celebration, 60 years of marriage celebration of my grandparents, etc etc..
Tonight I am lucky to go for a Kambo ceremony, and then I have 3 goodbye parties, before I leave to Malta. But I will tell you all about it in the next story, because this one is getting a bit long ;)

Peace, love and happiness
Your storyteller Loony

Ps.. My pictures of the travel in Morocco are here. Its public, so you can also see if you dont have facebook.
https://www.facebook.com/Loony.Leonie/media_set?set=a.10205830147867319.1073741841.1666220787&type=3

  • 03 Mei 2015 - 18:03

    Julia:

    Wow Leonie!! Wat een avontuur!! Ik verheug me al op je eerste verslag van Malta. Je bent een hele bijzonder en sprankelende persoonlijkheid en ik ben zeer dankbaar dat onze wegen zich hebben gekruist. Ga er voor dame, je kunt het!! Xx

  • 03 Mei 2015 - 22:36

    Seneca David :

    Missen zal ... dansen in je licht ... een warme knuffel ... mijn Vlaams wat Hollandser laten klinken ...
    Blij ben ik ... omdat je je droom gaat beleven ;)
    Geniet meisie <3 & light now going everywhere , give hug's and share love . And tell us all about it when you return :)

  • 06 Mei 2015 - 14:08

    Mama:

    Hey,
    Vanochtend weer vertrokken uit etten-leur, na een paar drukke gezellige weken.
    Je zult vast weer veel mensen ontmoeten, mooie plaatsen zien en als t goed is...veel dansen.
    Maak er een paar mooie maanden van.
    Kus mama.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Loony

Actief sinds 19 Sept. 2011
Verslag gelezen: 523
Totaal aantal bezoekers 24440

Voorgaande reizen:

26 Maart 2015 - 05 April 2020

Go with the flow (wand) ! ;)

10 Juni 2011 - 03 Februari 2012

Loony's adventures

26 April 2012 - 30 November -0001

Loony to India

Landen bezocht: