Getting warm for a new adventure - Reisverslag uit ettenleur, Nederland van Loony Leonie - WaarBenJij.nu Getting warm for a new adventure - Reisverslag uit ettenleur, Nederland van Loony Leonie - WaarBenJij.nu

Getting warm for a new adventure

Door: LoonyLeonie

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Loony

06 Maart 2012 | Nederland, ettenleur

My beloved friends,

You will be surprised, a blog from Loony, and she is not even travelling..
True, but as some of you might already know, I have a new plan..
And Im telling you now already, so you can get used to the idea, but more because Im too excited.. So I was writing things down, and decided to share it with all of you..

And another question that might pop-up in your head is probably , why in English?!
Well, some friends from around the world told me they would love to read my stories too.
And of course, now also my beloved one, Akshat, can read what is going on in my mind..
So, sorry if you struggle with reading this, but maybe it’s a good exercise for you to learn English.. :)

So let me come to the point.. And tell you about my big plan..
On 24th of April I’m leaving Holland.. For at least a year..
And guess where I’m going.. ;-)
Incredible India..

I will tell you why..
Because Im kinda done with Holland..
I knew it the first time I came back from India, I knew it when I left with Tasty Tonka, and I knew it when I came back last month after 8 months of travelling..

Everyday that I wake up here, I look at the grey sky, witness the rain or snow.. And the expressionless faces on the streets.. And I wonder what I’m doing here..
Its not that im unhappy here in Holland. Not at all..
I enjoy my life, every minute of it.. I love my friends around me. And my family too..
I love the parties in the weekend.. I love the freedom my job gives me.
But if I stay here, every day, every week, every month will be the same..
I go to work in the weekdays, and go to party in the weekend.. Week after week..
I look forward for the summer of festivals, enjoy them, and start the routine again..

Im convinced that I can live the life I just mentioned also later.
Holland will be here also after 10 years. Stupid jobs and parties will be here forever.
Holland will be grey and ugly forever.. Everything here will always be structured and organised.. Everything will have rules and routines..
So I don’t feel like Im missing out on anything when I leave. (Except my friends then..)

Im ready for a new challenge. Im ready for a new experience.
Something far away from my comfort zone. Something different!
So Im going for India..
Because I love the chaos, I love the unorganised daily life there.
Its might be poor, dirty and overcrowded, the queues are huge, there is lack of space everywhere, and the public transport is terrible, but everyday is a lesson for me. People keep on smiling.
There is a feeling of unity between these millions of people.. Nobody complains.
People accept their lot…
And the people will always help you, with everything possible..
Most are innocent, and a little naïve, because they just don’t know so much of the big world out there.. But they do desire to learn and make careers..
People believe in karma.. And the spiritual philosophy you’ll find everywhere..
It is a country where family is the most important thing in life.. And love is a weird thing.
And then I didn’t even mention the magical nature.. The hills, the deserts, the forests, the mountains, the beaches, the palm trees, the blue skies, and the always shining sun..
And I love the street view, with the temples, the rickshaws, the cows, the dogs, the colourful women, the bollywood posters on every corner, the vegetable stalls and little shops on the strangest places, children playing cricket, and old men playing cards in the shadow..
In India they have a saying “Sab kuch milega”, which means “You can have everything you want”, and it is true.. For me at least..

Im not saying I belong in India..
Not at all, most things for me will be weird, new and maybe even completely stupid..
But that’s why the country is so interesting for me. We Europeans are spoiled brats, we are materialistic and always with our heads in the ‘future’..
I want to explore another look on life.. And India will teach me a lesson..
I have no idea what to expect, and im not saying its going to be easy..
But it will give me the feeling Im alive!

In Holland I see more and more weird stuff happening..
When I came back I was shocked by the supermarket and gasoline prices..
I was shocked when I took a 5 minute taxi ride and paid 15 euro.. (1000 roepies..)
But you cant take the bus, because you need a special pass for it..
And the coffeeshops, which we are so famous for, a closing down, because the government is done with so many tourists. And the ones still open, you can only enter with, guess what, a special pass..
There is a big crisis everywhere, but the government is thinking about building a 2000 meter high mountain, for our cycle and ski fans, costs around 200 milliard euro.. Insane!!
If people from a foreign country come to work here, we set up a website to betray them if they steal our jobs.. (‘East European people hotline’ they call it..)
And Im a fan of multi-culture, and everybody deserves a chance in this country, if they give our culture and people a chance too..
But then there is black people in our country that are telling us we have to forbid “Zwarte Piet” because they feel discriminated, and the muslims don’t want a cross on the head of “Sinterklaas” anymore because they think it is to Christian, and offending to them..
(Zwarte Piet & Sinterklaas are myths of our folklore, go ages back and have nothing to do with discrimination http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zwarte_Piet )
But our own Christians turn out to be not the saints as we knew them, since more and more stories come out about priests abusing children..
This whole class of cultures, and lack of religion makes me realise that we have no more unity in this country, nothing binds us.. If you want to visit someone you have to make an appointment, because what the people love to do here most is sit on the couch and watch tv with the curtains closed, hating it when people knock on their door uninvited..
No wonder we suck in love nowadays, and 34% of the marriages ends in a divorce..
What happened to peace, love, unity and respect?
(Or am I too hippy-minded? And unreal?)


Talking about love..
Ofcourse, another reason for me to go to India, is Akshat.
My friend, soulmate and man of my dreams.
We found the cosmic connection, and are not planning to let that go because we are both creatures from the other side of the world..
This sweet hearted man with the greatest smile ever makes me happy.. And my craziness seems to make him happy too. So why not go for the opportunity of being together?

And because Akshat lives in Mumbai, Im going to settle down there for a while too..
Im still searching for schools, found some already, but didn’t make anything concrete yet..
It doesn’t matter, in India everything is possible, so I will make my final decision when im there.. Just pray for me it all works out with visa and stupid formalities..

It may all sound dreamy..
But I know that most of my friends are travelling around the world at the moment, or start travelling soon.. (I think I can already count 15 friends travelling or with plans easily)
So you guys must know what Im talking about..
I love the fact, that all my beloved friends are chasing their dreams.
I hope for all of those, who are exploring the world at the moment (or will be doing it soon) that everyday brings you a challenge, a lesson, a smile, a tear, an adventure and a lot of happiness!
And for all of you, struggling with the daily routine, wanting a change:
Live your dreams, don’t dream your life!
Don’t look back at your life saying “ooh I wish I had done it..”
You live now..

Soo, for those who are in Holland/ Belgium..
April 21 will be my last party here for a while, and it will be the best Oldschool Trance party of the year.. So I hope to see all your pretty faces there, so I can give you a warm hug before I leave..
Check for info: http://www.facebook.com/events/375621289119685/

The rest of you beautiful creatures I hope to see soon in Mumbai, or elsewhere in the world..

Big kiss <3
Leonie


Ps.. If you want to be removed from this blog.. Tell me..
Ps.. If you want to subscribe for this blog, on the left side of this page, you will find a white box in which you can fill in your e-mail address, and you will receive my stories automatically.. Or just tell me, and I will add you to the list..


Pssst.. If you want to read my old stories, find on the left side of this page “Mijn andere reizen” and then klick on “Loony’s adventures” (but its all dutch)

  • 06 Maart 2012 - 22:38

    Lennart:

    Straight to the point. You go girl!!

  • 07 Maart 2012 - 08:52

    Lieke:

    Great & inspiring post! Wishing you all the best for the India adventure & hope to see you at Tribes Gathering still :)

  • 09 Maart 2012 - 18:29

    Ramon & Lotte:

    The force is with you Loony.
    :) Dikke,vette,pleurisgrote,hartelijke,tering smiley !!!!!

  • 09 Maart 2012 - 18:56

    Lotte :

    Wow nice Loony! Follow your dreams and hopefully we meet again somewhere, sometime, at some place...

  • 24 April 2012 - 19:41

    Remco:

    Good luck girl, may al your dreams and expectations become reality.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Loony

Actief sinds 19 Sept. 2011
Verslag gelezen: 540
Totaal aantal bezoekers 24438

Voorgaande reizen:

26 Maart 2015 - 05 April 2020

Go with the flow (wand) ! ;)

10 Juni 2011 - 03 Februari 2012

Loony's adventures

26 April 2012 - 30 November -0001

Loony to India

Landen bezocht: